Skip to content

First orders are en route…

September 14, 2010

Today I shipped off my first 2 blankets! They were purchased at my Etsy shop. This calls for a minor happy dance! I have 2 more to ship this week, but I’ve been working on the finishing touches before I send them off. What finishing touches you ask? Before I send each blanket I have to make sure that they don’t have any fatal flaws. I soak them in a mixture of water, vinegar and salt to lock in the colours. Then, I put them through the washer and dryer to make sure they don’t have freaky shrinkage issues. Usually, you would do all your pre-shrinking before you sew the items…but washer/dryers are not currently available at the sewing co-op. I’m putting that on the wish list. After they are washed and dried, I iron them and give them the once over. Finally, I fold them up and tie them with some twine. I also add a business card and a thank-you note. When the project is launched full force, I will have very detailed hang-tags with information about the co-op. For now, people will be directed to this blog.

My next task is a press release for the local media. I’ve been struggling with some extended jet lag…so tackling these things is taking longer than I planned. If anyone has jet lag cures, let me know. I can’t seem to sleep before 4 am!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. blackwatertown permalink

    Looks very good. Nicely packaged.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

