Skip to content

Super Mega Photo Post Part 2

September 16, 2010

I’ve finally found the focus to post the next batch of pictures from my trip. Here it goes:

Castle Lodge, the fabulous guest house in Ndola. Run by great people…amazing people actually!

ZambiaAugust2010

An empty stall, used by women to sell fruit or household items. It was after business hours.

ZambiaAugust2010 017

Big Bamboo.

ZambiaAugust2010 015

Shark House! I really would have liked to check out the interior of this architectural gem! Most homes in the area have huge cement walls surrounding them…not fun for an architecture lover.

ZambiaAugust2010 013

Beware of dog!

ZambiaAugust2010 011

Beware of yoga dog (aka Ghandi dog).

ZambiaAugust2010 012

Feed me Seymour!

ZambiaAugust2010 009

My cousin Farai, carrying a huge bundle of duvet filler.

Lusaka 024

Zambia, where Datsuns go to die.

Lusaka 023

Body Kit?

Lusaka 022

Find the gecko part 1:

Lusaka 021

Yuck.

Lusaka 015

This is also yuck. (some shot involving lemon, sugar and coffee grounds)

Lusaka 014

Friends in Lusaka, that yucky shot was their idea.

Lusaka 013

More friends in Lusaka…Americans.

Lusaka 012

The biggest purse ever.

Lusaka 011

Veggie stand, baby not for sale.

Lusaka 009

Just in case! Believe it or not, this was not the funniest butcher shop name I spotted. The winner was “Sanity Butchers”.

Lusaka 008

The market comes right to you while you wait in the bus:

Lusaka 006

Where are the trademark police? Not in Zambia, obviously.

Lusaka 001

I love Castle Lodge, especially since they have this amazing bathroom that looks like something from ‘The Shining’.

Kanyenda 291

My cousin Bertha’s son on the right. He hopes to be a Forester one day…just like my dad!

Kanyenda 290

Another cousin’s son on the left and his friend.

Kanyenda 274

The woman holding the baby is my dad’s cousin.

Kanyenda 271

All dressed up and nowhere to go.

Kanyenda 269

Nectar of life.

Kanyenda 267

Cousin Bertha’s son Clarence, studying to be an auto mechanic.

Kanyenda 253

My wallet was like the UN after travelling though so many airports.

Kanyenda 246

Bertha’s son Stephan showing me his cracked laptop…cousin Christopher looks on. I ended up leaving Stephan the laptop I used for my trip. It was an oldie, donated by a grade school friend.

Kanyenda 227

Cousin Harry and his little dumpling of a boy:

Kanyenda 218

These kids started a marching band, it was awesome:

Kanyenda 210

My cousin’s neighbours, eating some porridge for breakfast.

Kanyenda 205

My bath for a week. It was fine, except for the day the rat ran through the bathing shelter…that was not cute.

Kanyenda 198

The Jacaranda in the bathing shelter was pretty.

Kanyenda 197

Kanyenda 196

Find the gecko part 2. This was my bathing companion.

Kanyenda 195

The sign at the entrance of my family village. This is also the site of the terrible accident that killed my cousin Henry last year. He was knocked off a tractor and suffered a fatal head injury. May he rest in peace.

Kanyenda 193

Village ducks:

Kanyenda 189

I love this picture! This is my cousin Gertrude on the left and her best friend.

Kanyenda 188

This little lovebug is the daughter of one of my cousin’s daughters…so I’m her grand-something. What you can’t see is that she has burns on about 20% of her body, she fell in a fire recently. I have pictures of the injuries, but I though better of posting them. It’s truly horrific. The poor baby must have been in terrible pain.

Kanyenda 179

The tractor that was involved in the aforementioned accident. These children are all belong to a variety of cousins. I call them nieces and nephews to simplify….but in our culture they consider me a mother.

Kanyenda 160

My nephew Chanda, the dog whisperer. He is Henry’s son. I have to say it was really uncomfortable to see him playing with the tractor, but I was also glad to see him smiling.

Kanyenda 152

Kanyenda 150

Kanyenda 144

Specky, an old village dog.

Kanyenda 066

Zeeba (I think that’s his name)

Kanyenda 061

My Aunt’s new home…looking good. It’s a big improvement. It would be amazing to get some solar panels, they do not have access to electricity.

Kanyenda 060

Kitchen in the new home:

Kanyenda 059

That is it for now…I have more to upload. I’ve hit my bandwith limit on flickr! Oh well, it will leave something for later.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Whitney Lukuku permalink

    Great documentation. I can see some improvements from the last last time we were there. The village appreciated your visit very much.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

